Yea District Memorial Hospital

Our People


Board of Management

Mr Ian Marshman AM

Ian still spends some time in Melbourne, but is mostly at Limestone where he runs a small beef farm with his wife.  He has a strong background in strategic risk management and reporting and corporate governance.  During his 40 year career Ian has previously served on two metropolitan hospital boards, and is currently Chair of Headspace Youth Mental Foundation and the Melbourne Dental Clinic. Locally Ian is Secretary of the Yea Water Discovery Centre Inc. and an active member of the Limestone Fire Brigade. Ian served the previous 12 months on the YDMH Board, and has been reappointed for three years.



Mr Gary Pollard
Deputy Chair   

Gary also served for 12 months on the previous board, and has been reappointed for three years.  Gary, from Yea, has worked as a community pharmacist for over 40 years and has been, and still is involved in many community groups.  Gary’s strengths are in audit and risk management, community services and clinical governance.  Gary is a member of the Patient Care Review Committee, which is a subcommittee of the Board, overseeing quality and risk.




Ms Kirstie Fotheringham
Chair Audit Committee 

Appointed for two years, Kirstie is also from Yea and holds a Bachelor of Accounting degree and a Post Graduate Diploma of Teaching.  Kirstie’s strengths are in audit and risk management, financial management and accounting, and corporate governance.




Dr. Sarah Anderson Ph.D.

Chair, Patient Care Review Committee

Sarah has been appointed for three years, lives in Surrey Hills and owns property in Toolangi.  She holds degrees in prosthetics and orthotics, public health and ergonomics and lectures in these disciplines at La Trobe University with a special interest in disability. Her skills include clinical governance, patient experience and consumer engagement.




Ms Del Leslie

Del has been appointed for two years and lives in Croydon but has family (the Drysdales) who have been residents of Yea since 1878. Del holds a Bachelor of Education and a Masters of Organisational Leadership qualifications and works at a senior executive level in Higher Education and Vocational Education and Training.  Del is a member of the Audit Committee and brings to the Board strength in corporate governance, strategic leadership and financial management and accountability.


Ms Cindy Heath

Cindy has been appointed for three years. A  Registered Nurse and Diabetes Educator who began her career in Swan Hill, Cindy lives in Surrey Hills and has a small family property in the Strathbogie Ranges. She brings over 20 years of knowledge and experience in health and aged care, working in a number of senior roles, including in the Ageing and Aged branch of the Department of Health and Human Services Victoria.  Cindy is passionate about high quality health care, with strengths in clinical governance, audit and risk management. Cindy is a member of the Patient Care Review Committee.



Ms Kerry Stubbings

Kerry has been appointed for two years, lives in Northcote and has strong family connections to Yea and Flowerdale.  Kerry works as a senior executive in local government and has a special interest in promoting community health and wellbeing, early years, youth, aged services and social justice.  Kerry’s strengths are strategic leadership, community services, communications and stakeholder engagement.  Kerry is a member of the Audit Committee.




Ministerial Delegates

The Board is being assisted by Ministerial Delegates, Dr. Peter Brennan and Dr. Marcus Kennedy to implement the recently completed clinical services plan and to develop a strategic plan.




Management and Support

Chief Executive Officer - Mr C Butler

Director of Nursing/Manager - Mrs L Gray

Director of Medical Services (onsite) - Dr R Lowen

Visiting Medical Staff

Dr M Lowe - MBBS
Dr TC Chuah - MBBS